Annual Birthday Post (and a Giveaway Blog Hop)

8 May

Happy end of my thirties to me.

That’s right, another year has passed and tomorrow I turn 39.  This is the beginning of the end of my thirties.   Last year I said I wanted to do many things by the time I turned 40.  I guess I only have one year left. Some of those items I know will have to wait – but a few will happen this year.  I have not pushed myself the way I needed to from 38 – 39 and now 39 – 40 is going to have to be one helluva year.  Off We Go!

I believe that whatever motivation works for you – go with it.  If it’s your looming big birthday, if it’s the invitation to a class reunion or friend’s wedding, if it’s the fear of being seen in a bathing suit this summer – whatever you need to get you moving, motivated, eating right and sweating – use it.  My motivation is what it’s always been, to be healthy and happy for my kids and my husband.  They deserve the best version of me and I need to quit being afraid to push myself harder to have the healthy body I want to have.  FIT FOR LIFE

The magazine industry and commercials on tv that vow to get you fit in a week, or six weeks or by summer are not motivating to me and totally unrealistic.  Can you tone up and get on the path to wellness in a number of days, weeks or months?  OF COURSE.  You can make a change today that will affect your tomorrows – but getting skinny by the summer time unless you’re already thin – yeah, not going to happen.  Can you Shape Up?  ABSOLUTELY! What I’m trying to say is, I’m getting healthy for LIFE not fit for SUMMER.  OR, you know, zombies.

zombie

One of my goals is to run. To really learn to be a runner.  I’m going to start with the 5K Foam Fest next weekend.   Then I am going to finish my 30’s running the Pittsburgh Half Marathon on May 3, 2015, 7 days before my 40th birthday.  There – I said it.  It’s out in the public.

I WILL DO A HALF MARATHON BEFORE I TURN FORTY.

Happy Birthday To ME.

And my gift to you….

An entry to a 5K Foam Fest.  The folks that have been around her for a while know I love mud runs and this one is my favorite.  I did it last year for my birthday and it was the best birthday present I ever gave myself.  I have an entry to give away thanks to the fine folks at Foam Fest (who have also given me an entry!) and I’d like to give one to you.

 

What do you need to do?  Comment below with the best wellness gift you’d give yourself.  You can get extra entries for following me on facebook, twitter, instagram (Sorry, if you’re a wrap salesperson or get skinny quick person I won’t allow you to follow me!), and pinterest.  Come back and tell me you’ve done so in the comments.

I’m happy to be participating in the Shape Up for Summer Blog Hop… meaning, after you enter my giveaway, feel free to click here to go to the next giveaway in the hop!  GOOD LUCK TO ALL!

Shape Up For Summer Blog Hop

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

62 Responses to “Annual Birthday Post (and a Giveaway Blog Hop)”

  1. breannaS May 9, 2014 at 11:57 am #

    If I could give myself any fitness gift it would be a dedicated workout room.

    • MS_AimeeC May 9, 2014 at 12:07 pm #

      Ooooh. that sounds great! I would totally set up a system for TRX. Now you have me dreaming of what my home fitness studio would look like!

      • breannaS May 10, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

        It would be awesome wouldn’t it.

  2. breannaS May 9, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    I liked your facebook page

  3. breannaS May 9, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    I am following you on twitter @knittingmamaof2

  4. breannaS May 9, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    I am following you on pinterest breanna bigby sackrey

  5. breannaS May 9, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    I am awaiting approval to follow you on instagram. Have a great day

  6. Katie Hughes May 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    I would love to give myself a garmin!

  7. Katie Hughes May 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    I like you on facebook(Katie Hughes)

  8. Katie Hughes May 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    I follow on Twitter (@kathuggs)

  9. Katie Hughes May 9, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

    I follow on Pinterest (Katie Hughes)

  10. Katie Hughes May 9, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

    I requested to follow on Instagram (@kathuggs)

  11. judles262 May 9, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

    If you need any running advice along the way, please feel free to contact me — would love to help.

    • MS_AimeeC May 9, 2014 at 1:31 pm #

      TOTALLY! I’m going to need all the help I can get!

  12. Barking Mad (@BarkingMadRun) May 9, 2014 at 6:24 pm #

    I gift myself all the time, lol. I am a crazy runner and I race almost every weekend! The week of my birthday this year, I ran a half marathon in Atlantic City with some friends! I follow you on Twitter and Instagram as BarkingMadRun, follow you on Facebook and Pinterest as well! happy Birthday! I have never done a FoamFest, so pick me! pick me!

  13. Krysten May 10, 2014 at 2:10 am #

    I’d get a Whole Foods gift card :)

  14. Kristin Novotny (@littlemamajama) May 10, 2014 at 2:28 am #

    That sounds like so much fun! My husband and I are running a 10k together in June and have signed up for a half marathon in September. It’s so fun to have this goal together, as it’s the first time either of us have done more than a 5k.

  15. Kristin Novotny (@littlemamajama) May 10, 2014 at 2:29 am #

    Following you on Twitter!

  16. Laurel C May 10, 2014 at 3:59 am #

    I need to go get myself a massage!!

  17. Laurel C May 10, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    I follow on Pinterest!
    Laurel Cedarblade

  18. Laurel C May 10, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    I follow on Twitter too!
    @laurel_runs

  19. Laurel C May 10, 2014 at 4:01 am #

    I’m a Facebook fan

  20. Laurel C May 10, 2014 at 4:02 am #

    I also follow on Instagram!

  21. Jenni On The Run May 10, 2014 at 4:17 am #

    This is a tough question to answer… so many things I can think of. It’s a toss up between a fully stocked home gym and a lifetime yoga studio membership. I push myself more in a group setting, but my schedule is odd so I don’t go to any classes now due to scheduling conflicts. The home studio/gym/workout room would probably win out.

    Ok, now that I’m done fantasizing over that, happy birthday!! I became a runner right after hitting 30, ran my first Half that year, and ran my first full marathon this year at 34. YOU GOT THIS!!

    • MS_AimeeC May 10, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

      Seems like a home studio is the big winner! We can all fantasize.

  22. Jenni On The Run May 10, 2014 at 4:20 am #

    I liked your Facebook page (as Jennifer S Rogers), and am following on Twitter and Pinterest (as JenniOnTheRun)!!

    Oh, btw, I LOVE the zombie apocalypse ecard!! :)

  23. Lea @ Running with Ollie May 10, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I am in my last year of my 30s too. Isn’t it weird when an age that you always thought was old… suddenly is not so old. All my friends of this age are so young! whew! we’re not old yet! LOL

  24. MS_AimeeC May 10, 2014 at 1:44 pm #

    Thanks, Jenni! Keep pushing, ok?!

  25. Healthy Running Mom May 10, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

    I would LOVE to have a personal trainer. I love running, but I know if I had a trainer, I’d definitely push myself a lot harder! You should definitely do a 1/2 marathon. There’s so much great spirit around them! It’s a doable distance & you will be so proud of your self!

    • MS_AimeeC May 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

      Thanks! I’m really committed this year to doing better, pushing harder and finishing this goal!

  26. Healthy Running Mom May 10, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

    I follow you on FB

  27. Healthy Running Mom May 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

    I follow you on Twitter & Instagram.

  28. Lisa May 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    I would probably gift myself with a home gym. I liked and followed you on Twitter: Lilxsasuke and facebook: Lisa V

  29. Barbie May 10, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    My wellness gift to myself would be a racecation. I’ve done several 5ks 10ks and Halfs. Now I want to do them all over the world. Italy. Scotland. Everywhere!! A girl can dream, right?!?

    • MS_AimeeC May 10, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

      Aw man! That sounds incredible!

  30. Barbie May 10, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    I follow you on Facebook

  31. Barbie May 10, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    I follow you on twitter

  32. BackatSquare0 (@BackAtSquare0) May 11, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

    Awesome gift to yourself. I gave myself a marathon for my 30th and it changed my life in way more ways than I expected.

  33. amanda whiltey May 12, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    i have given myself a home gym and a xbox kinect where i have fun working out at home with zumba

    • MS_AimeeC May 12, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

      Those are great self gifts! I think I need to give Kinect Zumba a shot – I didn’t like the wii version.

  34. Denise May 12, 2014 at 3:55 pm #

    I’d love a really good quality home treadmill. Personal like on your FB page and we follow each other on Twitter – @DeniseL321 :)

  35. cassi9879b May 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

    Maybe a fitness vacation…not vacation from fitness LOL.

  36. cassi9879b May 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

    Already following on Twitter. Submitted IG request. Followed on PInterest.

  37. Deborah May 13, 2014 at 12:17 am #

    The best wellness gift I’d give to myself would be plenty of restful sleep and sticking to a workout plan!

  38. Deborah May 13, 2014 at 12:19 am #

    I Like you on Facebook (Deborah Neal)

  39. Deborah May 13, 2014 at 12:20 am #

    I follow you on Twitter. @mx5d

  40. Deborah May 13, 2014 at 12:20 am #

    I follow you on Pinterest (Sewnow)

  41. Deborah May 13, 2014 at 12:21 am #

    I requested a follow on Instagram (EatButter2)

  42. fit2sail May 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

    Been starting to dream about a home workout space, pinning things on pinterest that would belong in there. I love my front-of-the-tv space that allows me to get all sweaty at home, but more space would be amazing. A TRX would be such fun . . . I do get any new workout programs that are appealing (sorry Body Beast) as soon as they release, but honestly I chalk that up to work expenses! (heh. love it that way.)

    Realistic gift to myself? To stop beating myself up for not doing ALL that I feel I should. More sleep. So (I’m writing out loud, can you tell?) my realistic gift to myself is to celebrate all the things I am doing to be healthy. I work hard to help other people see that their fitness successes ARE successes, but not so good at seeing that in myself. Time for that to change. Happy birthday me? (next month – mine is 45.)

    Happy birthday, Aimee! (and I follow you on IG and FB, and am only dabbling in Pinterest but will try to find you there.)

    • MS_AimeeC May 22, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

      Those are all great gifts. The gift of being kind to yourself is really a great one.

  43. Jenny Stanek May 20, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

    My gift to myself would be to join Weight Watchers and the gym!

  44. runawaybridalplanner May 22, 2014 at 4:42 am #

    Best wellness gift I would give myself right now would be a new pair of running shoes, a girl can never have enough of those:)

  45. Erin from Long Island May 25, 2014 at 5:46 am #

    i’d start racing again. after 2 years of work i feel ready (after a 4 year exercise hiatus). the issue? i. am. so. broke. I can’t afford any of them!

  46. Erin from Long Island May 25, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    following on Facebook
    erin neu

  47. Erin from Long Island May 25, 2014 at 5:49 am #

    follow on twitter
    @erunuevo

  48. Erin from Long Island May 25, 2014 at 5:50 am #

    follow on pinterest
    erin neu

  49. sherry1969 May 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    I would love to have a treadmill.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  50. sherry1969 May 25, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    like on Facebook – Sherry Strode

  51. sherry1969 May 25, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    follow on Pinterest – Sherry Strode

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Five: Five Reasons To… | justus4carters - May 16, 2014

    […] and Cynthia and the rest of the link-up.  One last thing – don’t forget about the Fitness Bloghop!  Many of the giveaways are ending soon including my 5K Foam Fest […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,393 other followers

