Friday Five: Fitness Favorites

28 Mar

HAPPY FRIDAY!

Whew, this week has been a hard and I’m glad I finally made it here.  Are you feeling it too?  Is it spring fever?  Is that what this feeling is?  The feeling of plodding along because you know something is just about to become AWESOME?

This Friday, the girls ( Mar, Cynthia,and Courtney) that put the Friday Five Link-up together decided on the them “Fitness Favorites.”    I thought I’d share some of my favorite workouts.  Because Pinterest is my favorite source of inspiration for my workouts I’ll post a link to both my pin and for those of you not on Pinterest I’ll post the bloggers site so you can check them out.  (But seriously, why aren’t you on Pinterest?)

When I started trying to get healthy two January’s ago I learned about HIIT and Tabata training.  Basically (and I mean very basically, because I’m not a doctor or a trained fitness expert, so please do your own research!) HIIT or high intensity interval training, is doing a form of cardiovascular exercise, which vary from 4–30 minutes. They are short, intense workouts provide improved athletic capacity and condition, improved glucose metabolism, and improved fat burning.

In HIIT training you go hard for 2 – 3 minutes and then do something at lower intensity for one minute. Think about running on a treadmill, you’d go at your fastest sprint pace for two minutes and then slow it to a jog for one minute, then back up to two and repeat.  Or, for me, run for two minutes, walk for one.

In Tabata, you go hard 20 seconds, rest for 10 seconds repeating that circuit eight times for a total of four minutes. You go all in for 20 seconds, rest for 10.  So, 20 seconds of your fastest, highest high knees, rest for 10 seconds.  Best squat jumps for 20 seconds, hold a squat for 10.  Get the picture?

If you’re new to this kind of workout, take it easy and monitor your own heart rate.  You’ll get your heart rate up pretty high, pretty quickly and there is very little recovery time, so watch yourself.  

keep-calm-and-love-tabata-4

I like tabata training because I can accomplish it.  I can make my brain say “Sister, you can do ANYTHING for 20 seconds. YOU CAN DO THIS.”  Or “Aim, you can run for two – three minutes because then you get to walk for one. You can do anything for two minutes!”  This type of training is great for fat burning and metabolism and frankly, I like it because it’s about thirty minutes of hell but then it’s over.  A 90 minute workout?  “Ain’t nobody got time for that.”

With all of these workouts, if you can’t do one of the moves, add in a substitute of your own.Work at your level but keep moving.  For example, substitute in  jumping jacks instead of plank jacks – just find an activity to get you moving through the twenty seconds!

So, without further ado my favorite Tabata workouts:

1.)  Fit In Heels Tabata Tuesday series from Katy at Fit in Heels who helped get me through those first forty pounds.  Her workouts are fun, doable and kickass.  I love that she has videos for all of these moves because frankly, Side Burpee?  Dive Bomb Push Up with Major Air?  Um, WHAT?  Yes, thankfully Katy does great video for fitness newbies like me.

2.)  Tina Reale‘s Full Body Tabata: This is the workout that got me started on Tabata in the first place I think, right “Molly Fox” (my amazing workout partner in crime)? Again, great workout and links at the end to all of the moves.

3.) Blond Ponytail: Jess is another amazing woman who got me through the first forty.  This Total Body Home Workout is going to kick your butt. You’ll want to die.  You will survive.  With Jess, a lot of her workouts I’ve adapted into a tabata style, and I think you can do this with a lot of routines.  For example, this holiday workout, I just do the circuit for twenty seconds instead of the number she suggests.  Jess is incredible and her videos are easy to follow for us rookies.

Image

4.)  Coffee Cake and Cardio:  This girl is my fitness inspiration.  She’s real. She gets the challenges I face.  I love that she shares her successes and failures openly and honestly.  On top of all that, she plays football.  OMG.  The dream!  She gets to HIT people.  Love her.  Here is a tabata workout that Ashley put together that’s easy to follow and anyone can accomplish it.  This one isn’t as cardio heavy, but gets you a full body workout.  (Ashley is expecting her first baby! She’s working out through the pregnancy and just another reason I think she is fantastic.  Congrats, lady! Head on over and show her some love) 

5.)  Fitnitchick:  Tamara is a Fitness Pro.  A leader of women.  And a total booty kicker.  I wanted to share this workout because it includes my number one favorite piece of fitness equipment. The Bosu Ball.  (Ok, maybe it’s a toss-up between the Bosu and the TRX. Both make me feel like a kid and a badass simultaneously.)  If you have a bosu or your gym does, this is a great piece of equipment to add to your routine or use Tamara’s that she’s demonstrated here.

 

There you have it, my fitness favorites.  What are some of your favorite workouts?  Do you have a favorite at home workout routine that you like to do?

 

Happy Friday.  Happy Spring!

Sparkle on,

Aimee

 

Disclaimer:

All the information presented on this blog is for educational, entertainment, and resource purposes only. This blog is NOT a substitute for any advice given to you by your physician. ALWAYS consult your physician or health care provider before beginning any weight loss, nutrition or exercise program. Use of the programs, advice, and information contained in this website is at the sole choice and risk of the reader. 

17 Responses to “Friday Five: Fitness Favorites”

  1. Nicole @ Fitful Focus March 28, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

    I’ll have to try some of these out! Thanks for sharing :)

    • MS_AimeeC March 28, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

      I think it’s great to mix up the workouts! Give it a shot.

  2. Tamara Grand March 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

    Aimee, thanks so much for including my Bosu workout on your list! (I’m a huge TRX fan as well; guess I should put a TRX session together too). And I soooo appreciate your very kind words! Happy Friday!

    • MS_AimeeC March 28, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

      A workout full of bosu and TRX is the perfect workout for me!

      Thanks for inspiring and kicking my newbie booty.

  3. Sarah @ How My World Runs March 28, 2014 at 4:19 pm #

    I need to try a few of these and change up my gym routine. :-)

    • MS_AimeeC March 28, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

      What do they call it – “muscle confusion”! Mix up the workouts and find a new muscle to work! :)

  4. Annie March 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m so happy to hear you loving this Aimee! I think a lot of women are spending a lot of hours on the treadmill trying to get the results they could get is less time with Tabata and HIIT workouts! Way to go!

  5. Patience March 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

    I sometimes do HIIT on the rowing machine, and it is intense! It got a little wearisome, so I’ve backed off to just rowing until the machine says I’ve burned 100 calories. I’d like to try Tabata on the rowing machine.

  6. Sara @ lifebetweenthemiles March 28, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

    Great post! HIIT and Tabata are so much fun and effective ways to workout. If I’m working out at home, I like to do workouts like Insanity, HIIT are my favorite!

  7. Eat Pray Run, DC March 28, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    This is a great list! Tabata workouts are tough but effective :)

  8. Femme Fitale Fit Club March 28, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

    I haven’t done at – home workouts lately but Cathy Friedrich is DEFINITELY the go-to fitness woman for me. I feel her workouts afterwards which isn’t always the case with others.

  9. Amanda H March 29, 2014 at 2:57 am #

    Ooh I love tabata workouts! In fact HIIT is #3 on my fav fitness 5 list. Thanks for sharing this!

    • MS_AimeeC March 29, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

      Thanks for checking them out!

  10. jillconyers March 29, 2014 at 7:55 am #

    I see a few of my favorite bloggers on your list :)

    • MS_AimeeC March 29, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

      These ladies all virtually kick my ass. ;)

  11. Carla Bruns (@RealInto) March 30, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    Great workouts! I do go by all of the blogs you listed but not regularly enough. I have to admit that I’m not a huge HIIT or Tabata fan but it is quick and effective. If you’re enjoying it then good for you! I’ll have to check out some of those links on your recommendation.

  12. Mar on the Run! March 30, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

    Love Tabata and HIIT workouts!!! so intense but worth it ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,365 other followers

