It’s The End of The World As We Know It

2 Dec

It’s not the END, it’s just the beginning.

Over the last 12 weeks I have been fortunate enough to workout at Clay Fitness.  During that time a lot of changes have taken place with my body, mind and spirit.  I am forever thankful for this boost that Clay helped to take me through.  I am stronger than I knew and physically I only hope to continue to get stronger.  To go back and read more about my journey I encourage you to visit Clay’s website and facebook page.

Image

It’s the end of the twelve weeks, but my journey is far from over.  Last Wednesday night I learned that I have been accepted as a Girls Gone Sporty Endurance Goal Getter!  The Goal Getter journey runs from January 1 – March 31 when I will be training for my first real run longer than 5k.  I told you about a month ago that I wanted to complete a half marathon before I’m 40 and this Goal Getter challenge will push me to focus on something about fitness that I’ve NEVER loved – running.  I am excited to share that journey with you in January.

In the meantime, if  you are a runner and you hated running at first, I’d love to hear what changed your mind?

17 Responses to “It’s The End of The World As We Know It”

  1. runawaybridalplanner December 2, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    I’ve been a runner for years, and I’ve never hated it. But if your looking for things to love about it, its great ME time:) Start out slowly and work up into it, don’t force it. If you don’t want to go for a run one day, skip it and do something else. Never use it as a “I have too…” use it more of an “I get too:)” Good luck with it!!

    • MS_AimeeC December 2, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      Thanks! I am excited to try and love it, for sure!

  2. Melissa Gaines (@melGmow) December 2, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Not sure if you got my first comment…FB booted me. I also ran a half before turning 40, that was a couple of years ago :) I do run, and it sometimes love it, it just isn’t as natural for me as weight lifting. I can do it because I get lost in my head. I think of everything from blog posts to how to help my dyslexic daughter. Good music and enjoying the outdoors is also great motivators. I just really enjoy the alone time, but many people like a running partner. Best of luck to you!

    • MS_AimeeC December 2, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

      I just got this one… Stupid internet!

      I’ve heard music helps. I need some young whipper snapper to teach me how to make a good playlist. ;)

  3. Sara @ lifebetweenthemiles December 2, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    You are doing awesome!! I started running about 3 years ago and HATED it. Why? Because it was hard and it hurt. I ended up joining a running group and met some incredible people that I ran with and slowly after building up speed and endurance, couldn’t imagine my life without running in it. It takes time, but you can do it!

    • MS_AimeeC December 2, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

      Awesome! I’m going to keep plugging away! You give me hope.

  4. overwhelmed heart December 3, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    I love running so much I wrote a post about why I run…http://overwhelmedheart.com/2013/03/26/why-do-i-run/ I hope you find some inspiration!!

  5. Kimberly December 3, 2013 at 2:12 am #

    I’m not a runner, and I hate running, but I’m trying to love it. :) I’m currently using the couch to 10K pink app. It builds up slowly, but some weeks have been difficult for me, so I just repeat them. I did have a bit of a breakthrough when it came to the week where I had to run 5 minutes without stopping. (I know that sounds wimpy, but did I already say I’m really NOT a runner.) I figured out that I could last the whole 5 minutes if I just slowed down. I’m really slow, but I’m building up my endurance and my running muscles. :)

  6. Jen December 3, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    I’m so proud of all that you’ve accomplished! And I am delighted that you are running.

    I never thought I could run (too big, bad knees), nor was I interested. But when I turned 40, I was looking for ways to get healthier and more fit, and running was a good challenge for me. It took me several months, but I did come to love it.

  7. Mar on the Run! December 3, 2013 at 3:33 am #

    Goo for you for getting out there and challenging yourself. I say give yourself pats on the back for small accomplishments as you run. You’ll learn to love it if you don’t put pressure on yourself to just love it.

  8. kristenk December 3, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    I used to HATE running…like I wouldn’t do it in gym class, for sports, etc. I eventually began running because my husband and I would take walks along a paved trail in a local state park and I always saw so many runners and thought “I wonder if I could do that?” I started running in that park and I learned that while I’m running I get to be alone, spacing out and looking at the beautiful scenery around me! I’m also really into creating goals for myself (like trying new things, pushing myself to do things I’m afraid of) so I would be like “I bet I can’t run 2 miles today” and then tried to beat those goals. I have to say that for my first year of running I only liked doing it when I was in a pretty place outdoors. Treadmill running is easier when you can watch hilarious reality TV that makes you forget how miserable treadmill running is! Good luck with your new challenge! I know you’ll do great!

  9. Torie December 3, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    SOOO proud of you!! Well I definitely hated running when I first started. It was hard. really hard. I was so slow and I got easily discouraged seeing people passing me by, some looked like they weren’t even sweating or breathing hard! I stuck with it though (although up until this past year I was only a fair weather runner- seriously, I needed perfect conditions- not too hot, not too cold, not even a CHANCE of precipitation- before I would lace up. What changed? Well surprise, surprise, I figured out that the longer I stuck with it, the easier it got! So I’ve given this a lot of thought since reading your post yesterday and here are my top 3 things you need in order to fall in love with running: #1- the right gear. I know this sounds kind of corny (maybe a little snooty) – I mean, it’s running, shouldn’t tennis shoes be enough? Not if you want to be comfortable. Get fitted for the right pair of running shoes- yes, they’re a little pricey, but the right fit DOES make a difference & can really help prevent injury (& Ragged Mountain Running is right around the Corner- wink wink!) and learn to dress for the weather. Learning what layers, how many layers, what’s comfortable- shorts, capris, pants, sleeveless, teeshirts- being comfortable matters & will help you want to get out there! & yes, cute running clothes help motivate me to lace up! #2- Remember that one of the greatest things about running is that the only person you’re competing with is you! Every time you run, you’re making progress. You’re getting better than you were the day before. It doesn’t matter if you’re not the fastest mom in your neighborhood; with every single run you’re getting stronger, healthier & a little better. I ran my first half marathon in 2011 and was thrilled to death to just finish! So with each one after that first, my goal has been to shave off a few minutes & not feel like poo after crossing the finish line! With running, the progress is always right there in plain sight.
    #3-”I get by with a little help from my friends!” 1, 2, 3 or 5 running buddies are INVALUABLE!! My best running friends are what get me up & out there at 0 dark hundred when it’s 19 degrees outside & I really think maybe I should just stay in bed. We laugh, complain, sweat, cry, encourage, tease & congratulate one another- not just on running but all of life’s struggles. We’re all moms; we all struggle to find the balance; we all fight the mommy guilt any time we carve out a minute for ourselves. A great group of BRF’s is girl power! #4 (yeah, yeah, I thought of another one!)- IT’S CHEAPER THAN THERAPY!! Whether you prefer “group sessions” with your running buddies, or a one-on-one intense session with just you and the pavement, running is just plain good for the soul – it provides the perfect conditions to really consider whatever is weighing on your heart. One of my favorite Ecards has the Dos Equis guy on it & says “I don’t always make big life decisions, but when I do, it’s always when I’m running.” That about sums it up!
    I can’t wait to hear about your running journey! I have no doubt that you’re going to rock 13.1 before 40 & I’m sure you’ll have an entire fan club cheering you on! You ROCK!!

  10. Tori S. December 3, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    I never enjoyed running growing up. My dad and brother always ran and I thought they were crazy. I finally decided to give it a try and joined a local beginners running club that introduced me to a plan. I had people to run with and a guide to follow. Once I realized that I could take small steps (run/walk combo) to build to longer distances, I found out that I could actually do it without killing myself. I joined the group with my sights set on finishing my first 5K. Then I signed up for my next race. I always have a race that I am looking forward to in order to keep my self going. I would not say that I love running, but I do enjoy the me time that I have on a run and the reduction in stress that it brings. I am currently signed up for a 10K in London on New Years Day and my first half marathon in March. I am now to the point that I feel like want to run and not like I have to push myself to get out there. Take it slowly and build over time. Don’t be afraid to walk. It is about being out there and enjoying the quiet time to yourself.

  11. Allison T. December 4, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    Girl, I know you love a challenge. Running is just the next one on the list. In addition to what Torrie and the others said, get yourself a running app (Map My Run, Nike+…) and keep track. It’s as awesome as your Polar watch telling you how many calories you’ve burned. Why do you think I post each and every run to my FB page?! It’s motivating.

    I have my Women’s 4 Miler training packet if you want it. That’s what got me to this point- from refusing to run to now working on the 10 miler training. And just remember, it’s kind of like that saying about how does a mouse eat an elephant? One bite at a time. You don’t have run the 5K today, you just have to run 1/4 mile today. Or you just have to run for 5 minutes today. One little bit at a time and you’ll get there! Go for it!

    p.s. I would love to be your Nike+ buddy and cheer you on!

  12. Becky December 4, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    I want to be a runner and every new pair of good workout shoes I buy makes me think I can be a runner- but the truth is, I have a bad knee that lets me know those shoes are just lulling me into thinking I can run, every time. Good for you to doing it!

  13. jillconyers December 31, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Congrats Goal Getter! How can you not love running ;)

    I’m looking forward to following your progress!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Festivus, Christmas, New Years: An ending and a new beginning | justus4carters - December 30, 2013

    […] top of all of that, you may remember, I’m going to be training for a run in March and continuing my cross training workouts. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,116 other followers

