Have the Courage to Start

12 Nov

When I started to think about getting my life together almost two January’s ago, I started first with setting goals. One of my goals was to run a 5K.  I chose something that I felt would be more challenging, the Muddy Buddy, because I would have to train for it, in a different way, getting my entire body into shape.  I was closer to 300 pounds than I’d care to admit to anyone, my heart was skipping beats and my body ached.  However, signing up for that first event was my first step on a continued path towards living a healthier life.

Last night a very dear old friend posted something to her facebook page and I instantly got defensive.  Defensive over nothing that made any difference to me what so ever.  She made the joke that she signed up for a lowly 5k.  She makes fun of people who do “Tough Mudders” and other types of mud races.  It must not just be on social media that she makes fun, because others share articles for her to see.  Making fun of the lowly 5k or fun run runners must be a part of who she is.

Of course I see people make fun of people who exercise all the time.  I see people make fun of fat people all the time.  I’ve learned to ignore them, because they just haven’t gotten here yet.  It’s different this time.  She is a fitness instructor and someone I look up to.  She is one of the elite that I am so in awe of, one of the few who has qualified for and finished many marathons.

I am also in awe of anyone who finishes a 5k.  And a mud run.  And a 10 miler. And a half marathon.  Heck, I’m in awe of the people who, like me, are or were morbidly obese and got up off of the couch for the first time and walked to their mailbox, and then the next day walked a little further, and again and again until they could walk a mile, then run a mile.

You can not judge anyone for where they are on their journey.  It is not a moment of weakness to lower yourself to do a 5k, it is a privilege of the few who are able to run.

 

It's not the finish line that matters, it's having the courage to start

6 Responses to “Have the Courage to Start”

  1. RAchel November 12, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    Don’t let her get to you. You are amazing and doing great!!! I have people who have made comments about me running my 5ks and I just ignore them!

  2. Courtney G. November 12, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    People make comments about me “running” 5K’s. I exercise for my own goals not to impress anyone else. I am proud of my accomplishments and you should be very proud of yours. You had the courage to start…

  3. Tori S. November 12, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    So true and very well said! You are such an inspiration in your journey. Thank you for sharing it with us!

  4. Mar @ Mar on the Run November 13, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    oh :( don’t let the opinion of one get to you. We all started from somewhere, her included. I remember 3 years ago never ever running more than 3 miles but slowly challenging myself to that next lamp post, or bridge, etc and now I’m about to start training for my first full. People forget where they came from some times which is unfortunate.

  5. Delores Chadwick November 13, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Good commentary Aimee. You are so right that people who are accomplished sometimes forget the struggle they too went through to be at their best. Nobody starts out running a marathon. I am so grateful to the Charlottesville running community for the support they gave to me as I started my own journey to wellness.

  6. Patience November 14, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    I agree, there is no need to be snide, and there’s no shame whatsoever in any race event. It sounds like she is seeking validation for her own opinion that she is a superior athlete, but what she really did is expose her own insecurity.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,116 other followers

