Just because Dr. Oz said so.

29 Dec

So, not all of the holidays were spent in the glow of watching our children grow.  Yes, we got sucked into the boob tube (why is it called that?) We watched some pretty mindless television over the four-day weekend.  On Monday we got sucked into a Dr. Oz episode about Women and Belly Fat.  Hm, interesting.  Maybe just watching Dr. Oz will help with this gut?  Especially with a plate of Christmas cookies on my lap.  That ought to work, huh?

Well, just in case that doesn’t work, he offered up some super foods. Goldenberries, Miso and Sauerkraut.  Of those, only sauerkraut really interested me.  As I vaguely remember him saying something about “I don’t want you to eat this with hotdogs, but something lean,” blah blah blah, I’m sure that the Oz Man would not approve of how I want to eat my sauerkraut.   Whatever, Dr. Oz.   It’s New Years, and in the Pennsylvania Dutch tradition of eating pork and sauerkraut on New Years Day for good luck in the next year, I will eat my sauerkraut how I want it.

So, here is my version of a New Year’s Day Tradition:

Pork Loin with Sauerkraut
1 – 2 pound boneless pork tenderloin roast
enough salt and pepper to cover the pork before browning. (1/2 tsp a piece should be enough)
1 tsp olive oil
1 2-pound package of sauerkraut, rinsed and well-drained (or 16 oz can, whichever you prefer)
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1  apple, cored and chopped
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 a bottle of your favorite beer (yep, drink the rest yourself)

Sprinkle the pork with the salt and pepper. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add pork and brown on both sides. Place sauerkraut, onion, apple, brown sugar and pork in the slow cooker; stir to mix then pour beer all over. Cover and cook until pork is fork tender – 4-5 hours on high or 8-10 hours on low.   Serve with mashed potatoes (get your own recipe for those, mine are awful.)

Enjoy!

However,  I follow two Pittsburgh women whose posts makes me drool.  Here are some of their recipes I’m dying to try, you know, to get more sauerkraut in my diet.  Maybe this is the year I break from tradition.

From the amazingly wonderful Brown Eyed BakerBeer and Brown Sugar Kielbasa with sauerkraut or maybe Hot Reuben Dip.

And what goes better with pork and sauerkraut than potatoes?  Yep, nothing.  From the deliciousness of  How Sweet Eats, the Crispy Parmesan Potato Puffs.   http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/12/crispy-parmesan-potato-puffs/
Yep, I need to give Dr. Oz a special thanks for reminding me I love sauerkraut!

What are your New Year’s Traditions?  I hope they are as delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,116 other followers

